Updating an existing LH sample

Hi,
I’ve started working with your package with the aim to explore the use of metamodels for civil eng applications. Therefore I’m quite new to the topic and it’s my first time working on this probability methods.
Indeed I presume my problem is quite simple. I’m planning the definiton of a sampling to run some FE simulations and then try to build metamodel (i.e. PCE to start) to estimate some simulation outcomes. The problem has 5 parameters varying within certain ranges with a random distribution. It seems to me the LHS method perfectly fit the scope, but my trouble now is on the number of samples to create.
Let say I initially opt for 100 data for the sample, but the final result of the analysis does not provide me a robust prediction. Then, I need to create a new sample and suppose I want to add other 100 input.
The sum of the two samples will not be LH. Am I right? Is there any particolar solution/suggestion you can propose me?

Hello,

to enrich a sampling without complex algorithm, I use Sobol’ design of experiments.

experiment = ot.LowDiscrepancyExperiment(
    ot.SobolSequence(), composedDistrib, sample_size
)
sample = sample.generate()

Sobol’ sample is an ordered sequence. If you generate 1000 points, you can begin with experiment 0 to 99, for instance, get your 100 outputs, and see wether it’s ok or not. If it’s not, you can use the following 100 experiments, and step by step, converge to a good result. But, you have to keep the order. It ensures you each subsample will fill the design space uniformly, without any repetition of the same experiment (draw the sample before, with different colors for each group of 10 or 100 to see the different subsamples).

You can also use other similar sequences, like Halton, etc. See Designs of experiments — OpenTURNS 1.17dev documentation

Other users may also propose other solution, but this one is, I think, pretty simple.

Regards

1 Like

Hi!