Sinusoidal dependance

Hello
I am studying a model with an angle as input parameter, angle in [0,360deg]
So I run a DOE and it appears obviously a sinusoidal dependance (view with scatter plots). And therefore direct PCE or kriging metamodels with this angle as input are not very good… Should I introduce an intermediate input parameter as cos(theta) or sin(theta) ? Should I do such a thing directly in Persalys GUI ?

Thanks in advance!
Best regards
Flore

Hi Flore! If I understand your problem correctly, I see 2 ways of tackling it. One is theoretically grounded, but requires you to code your own covariance kernel, and only works with Kriging. The other is easier and works with both any metamodel, but is essentially a hack.

Kriging: mathematically sound method

To do this properly with a Kriging algorithm, you essentially need to use a covariance kernel defined on the unit circle.

The problem is, no such kernel is currently implemented in OpenTURNS. However, you can build it yourself (in OpenTURNS, not Persalys unfortunately).

Following Padonou and Roustant (2016), we can for example compose a Wendland function with the geodesic distance on the unit sphere to produce such a kernel (see pages 7 and 8 in the article):

import openturns as ot
from math import pi
geodesic_distance = ot.SymbolicFunction('theta', 'acos(cos(theta))')
wendland_function = ot.SymbolicFunction('t', '(1 + 4t) * max(0, 1 - t)^4') # c = 1, tau = 4
rho = ot.ComposedFunction(wendland_function, geodesic_distance)
cov = ot.StationaryFunctionalCovarianceModel([360 / 2 / pi], [1.0], rho)

Note that you cannot compose any covariance kernel on the real line with the geodesic distance to get a proper kernel for the unit circle! It must have specific properties which are given in the article, but the Wendland function above has them.

Here is what the covariance function looks like:

cov.draw(0, 0, 0.0, 600.0, 1000)

As you can see, it it is periodic and its period length is 360.